CCS Stan Nicholls Open 10 Time Trial

March 23, 2010

Brilliant sunshine greeted riders and officials for the third running of Cycle Club Sudbury’s 10 miles Open Time Trial on the Lavenham – Sudbury – Lavenham course.

The early morning start in sub zero temperatures and a rising head wind on the return leg meant that riders’ times were never going to worry the course record.

Nino Piccoli (TT-Weekly/Pedal Revolution/Gear Club) and Glenn Taylor (API-Metrow-Silverhook Chemicals) are two of the regions top time trial riders and were expected to provide a close battle for overall honours. And so it proved with Taylor coming home just 10 seconds quicker than Piccoli, in 23mins 43secs. Taylor, from Capel St. Mary near Ipswich, admitted to struggling against the cold and wind on the return leg and thought he had lost his chance of victory. Andrew Leggett (Stowmarket & Dist.C.C. – Orbea/Autostrasse) came home with the third fastest time in 24mins 42secs. His team mates from the Stowmarket club, Owen Bannister and Paul Moss, secured 1st and 2nd places in the best improver category. 3rd place went to C.C.S’s rejuvenated veteran, Simon Daw who also recorded the fastest time of all the Sudbury riders with a 25min 16sec. Next quickest came Rob Davies with a 26min 05sec (despite a 1 min penalty for a late start) and James Rush with a 26min 11sec ride.

A successful event which went off without any mishaps in the icy conditions and also a good effort from Stewart Kirk in his first year as organiser.

Pos Rider Club Time
1 Glenn Taylor API-Metrow-Silverhook Chemicals 23m43s
2 Nino Piccoli Revolution 23m53s
3 Andrew Leggett Stowmarket & Dist.CC. – Orbea/Autostrasse 24m42s
4 Simon Daw Cycle Club Sudbury 25m16s
5 Owen Bannister Stowmarket & Dist.CC. – Orbea/Autostrasse 25m31s
6 Colin Lown Ipswich B.C. 26m02s
7 Rob Davies Cycle Club Sudbury 26m05s
8 James Rush Cycle Club Sudbury 26m11s
9 Matt Shotbolt Cycle Club Sudbury 26m46s
10 Chris Leggett Stowmarket & Dist.CC. – Orbea/Autostrasse 27m05s
11 Alan Russell Cycle Club Sudbury 27m08s
12 Paul Moss Stowmarket & Dist.CC. – Orbea/Autostrasse 27m18s
13 John Parks Wolsey Road Club 29m53s
14 Steve Mayes West Suffolk Wheelers 29m59s
15 George Hoppit Cycle Club Sudbury 30m00s
16 Gary Matthews 53.12 Multi-Sports 30m19s
  Steve Rush North Norfolk Wheelers DNF
  Will Marchant Flitch Chrono DNF
  Paul Furness Team Blueleaf Bicycle Smithy DNS
  Paul Jay Newmarket Cycling & Tri Club DNS
  Paul Rooke West Suffolk Wheelers DNS

Best Improvers

  • Owen Bannister
  • Paul Moss
  • Simon Daw