March 7, 2022

CC Sudbury held the Mad March Hilly time trial sponsored  by Drop Store, Robins Row and Torque Bikes Sudbury. The 22 mile BS24/R course runs to and from Lavenham via Great Waldingfield, Newton Green, Boxford, Hadleigh, Semer and Monks Eleigh. The event was won by Will Lowden (CC Sudbury), a 18 year old student, who featured on the cover of cycling weekly on Feb 24th, in a new course record time of 47 minutes and 24 seconds. Last year Will broke the ECCA junior individual records for 10 and 25 miles on the E2/10 and E9/25 courses as well as breaking club records on the Acton and Hitcham Hilly courses. The Lowden family have a strong cycling genes with his cousin Jos Lowden holding the female hour world record.

 The previous Mad March Hilly record was held by Tim Chilvers (Maldon and District CC) in 47:52. Will was followed by Lloyd Chapmen (Loose Cannons Conditioning) in 48:14 and in third Neil Hughes (Velo Schils Interbike RT) in 50:59.

The ladies event was won by Laura Davies (Orwell Velo) in 54:49 followed closely by Hannah O’brien (Loose Cannon’s Conditioning) 55:15. Third place went Gillian Leech (Loose Cannon’s Conditioning)

The team event was won by CC Sudbury, Will Lowden 47:52, Alex Purcell 52:13, Simon Daw 52:56, in 2hrs 32mins 33secs from Loose Cannon Conditioning 2:35:53.

The Vets category was won by Lloyd Chapman and Hannah O’Brien. The road bike category was won by Simon Thorpe (Stowmarket & District CC) and Isabella Johnson (Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling)

The raffle of two very large bottles of spirits, provided by ‘The Drop Store’, raised £150 for the Ukrainian disaster emergency fund.

No.Overall Pos.NameClubTime
401stWill LowdenCC Sudbury004724
202ndLloyd ChapmanLoose Cannon’s Conditioning004814
253rdNeil HughesVelo Schils Interbike RT005059
54thAlex  PurcellCC Sudbury005213
375thMathew ShotboltLoose Cannon’s Conditioning005222
366thSimon DawCC Sudbury005256
17thJohn  BradburyCC Sudbury005315
198thSimon ThorpeStowmarket & District CC005441
399thLaura DaviesOrwell Velo005449
3010thAndy KennedyIpswich BC005455
1511thHannah O’BrienLoose Cannon’s Conditioning005517
4212thWilliam CrabtreeOrwell Velo005529
3813thChris CrabtreeOrwell Velo005539
3114thJames RushCC Sudbury005553
1415thAlan GrovesVC Revolution005657
216thMark CarelessLoose Cannon’s Conditioning005712
1317thGavin RatcliffCC Sudbury005741
1818thJohn BlandVC de Londres005807
2319thCharlie  Heeks CC Sudbury005820
1620thGillian LeechLoose Cannon’s Conditioning005910
2221stShaun  Woodley Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club005926
422ndDaniel  UptonCC Sudbury005946
2623rdBrett TraversVC Revolution010006
1124thSimon DanielTri Sudbury010010
4125thJoseph ShawIpswich BC010038
1726thIsabella JohnsonDatalynx-Parenesis Cycling010122
2127thLee HellenNewmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club010200
3428thChris CantwellWest Suffolk Wheelers010248
329thJames WoodWest Suffolk Wheelers010319
3230thJohn SandersonColchester Rovers CC010655
831stDesmond NewellVC Revolution010717
732ndDavid FennCC Sudbury010957
2833rdSimon JenningsWest Suffolk Wheelers011020
2934thAdrian AblittCC Sudbury011221
1235thGerry BartonWest Suffolk Wheelers011704
1036thLindsay HobdenTri Sudbury011858
937thKirsty FennerCC Sudbury011924
2438thCaroline WykeCC Sudbury012637
6DNSBrendan O’BrienWalden Velo   
27DNSSarah Johnson CC Sudbury   
33DNSJoe  SkipperTeam Skipper   
35DNSJacob SowmanVelo Schils Interbike RT   

Rob Davies – event organiser, Rob.ev.jack@gmail .com